“So how do you eat organically all the time? It’s so expensive…”

I’ve always loved saving money. In fact, I’m obsessed with it. I am not cheap, I am thrifty and smart with my money. This doesn’t prevent me from being generous or from splurging; in fact, being savvy with my money ALLOWS me to do those things.

Saving is like a game to me- an every day contest as to how little I can spend. Not many 20 somethings with steady incomes live the same way. So how did I get like this? I grew up in a household where my mom clipped coupons every Sunday and my dad bought everything at Costco. They believed “Why spend when you don’t have to?!” And I agree. I started caring about how much I was spending ever since I began purchasing food and cosmetics/toiletries for myself (aka when I moved out of my parents’ house at 24). I would routinely only purchase store-brand generic beauty/health products and only when they were on sale. My shampoo was $1.79 a bottle, my conditioner was a bottle of Herbal Essences that I got for FREE because my mom gave me a coupon for $2.00 off any of their products and I waited until the store had them on sale for $1.99. With food I knew how to stretch a dollar and make meals that cost just a few dollars, if not pennies. My husband and I lived quite comfortably like this.

But then, one of the worst things that has ever happened to me turned out to be one of the best things. Cliche, I know. But true. I developed a physical ailment that, while researching it, led me to open my eyes regarding those inexpensive meals I was putting in my body.  I learned that I could make better choices. However, upon going to the grocery store I also learned that these choices were much more expensive. Digging deeper into my pockets meant I had to dig even deeper into my own resources and knowledge to come up with ways to not only justify the cost of these new expenses, but to actually save money as well.

Now, let me clarify. I could easily save a lot more money if I chose to not eat organically. However, I determined that I did not want to go on eating conventional foods and that I would need to make up for the extra cost of doing so. Many products are double the cost, some are triple, quadruple, quintuple! So how can the average person afford to eat only organic food and use only organic products? I’ve figured it out and have verbally shared my ideas with many people who have asked me to create a blog where I can relay information to whomever, whenever. Well, here I am! I’d love to share with you how you CAN live an affordable organic lifestyle. You have to be willing to make a few changes and swaps, some of which can take a little getting used to. But trust me, it’s worth it in the end, for both you, your family, AND your wallet!

If you read this blog, other blogs, articles, etc. you may decide to make the same changes I’ve made for me and my family, but if not, it doesn’t mean you can’t benefit from the same tips I will be sharing! So whether you’ve made the decision to go organic or not, you can always make the decision to SAVE MONEY. And I can help you do that- welcome to Two Peas & A Wad (of cash in your pocket!)

3 thoughts on ““So how do you eat organically all the time? It’s so expensive…”

  1. It is nice to hear there are “20 somethings” not just focused on the latest Apple gadget, jewel encrusted $400 headphones, etc. This 30 something is one bit less scared about the generation below me! Keep spreading the word. We eat organic for a family of four by either growing our own or finding economical ways to buy organic and cook creatively with it..

Leave a Reply

